The University of Johannesburg’s Department of Communication has launched an annual awards ceremony, specifically to celebrate the practical work of the Audio Visual Production Management students.

The inaugural Flare Awards event was held last month (October 2008), with the quality and enthusiasm of the students being so overwhelming that over 20 trophies were awarded on the night.

Hosted at Bak2Basix bistro, the event featured winning projects screened to industry professionals and guests from the SABC, M-Net, Spescom and various production companies in Johannesburg.

Well known actress Brumilda van Rensburg enchanted the guests during the evening and inspired the students with her encouraging words and knowledge of the industry.

The evening catered for exit-level students (third year and honours) and focused on their projects during 2008. These included Best Music Video, Best Mini-Doccie, Best Personal History and Best Final Project.

Two big winners on the night were Dale Wolf and Kyle Watson. Dale won Best Director, as well as Congeniality and also walked away with two project awards. Best Editor and Best Sound Design went home with Kyle Watson, who was also nominated for five project as well as enjoying a win for Best Personal History. Ricky Joaquim was awarded Top Student at third year level and Kate Corbin received the award for honours level, as well as winning Best Editor - honours.

Spescom sponsored eleven winners, each winning a three day advanced AVID editing course worth R8000.