Curious Pictures received the note worthy accolades as the nominees for the 2010 Rose d'Or competition were announced and two of Curious Pictures' productions were among the coveted nominations.

A Country Imagined, and Hopeville were selected by an international jury panel and were counted among the final nominations of 110 shows from 515 entries submitted, an all-time record in the festival's fifty year history.

A Country Imagined is selected in the category of Arts Documentary and Performing Arts. A Country Imagined, presented by musician and anthropologist Johnny Clegg is an unusual and rewarding journey through South Africa as it explores the landscapes that have inspired artists, writers, musicians and dancers for centuries.

A directing team of South Africa's leading talent includes John Trengove, Tim Greene, Guy Spiller, Vincent Moloi, Feizil Mamdoo Terri Ella and Liza Key. Hopeville is selected in the category of Drama and Mini Series.

Hopeville a six part mini-series centres on Amos Manyani (Themba Ndaba) a recovering alcoholic widower who arrives in the dusty town of Hopeville in a bid to forge a new life for himself and his estranged son, Themba (Junior Singo).

However, instead of the fresh start they both crave, father and son discover a mean, morally adrift community where apathy, fear and suspicion are the order of the day. Commissioned by the Heartlines NGO and SABC Education, the production is directed by John Trengove and has a shining cast including Terry Pheto, Desmond Dube,

Leleti Khumalo, Mary Twala and Fana Mokoena. Curious Pictures joins nominees from 22 countries world-wide at the 50th Rose d'Or Competition in Lucerne, Switzerland from September 18th-22nd.

The winners of the coveted Golden Roses Award will be decided during the Gala Awards Ceremony attended by leading television makers, producers and production companies, and executives from independent and public service broadcasters.

The Rose d'Or is one of the most important annual events in the international television industry and regarded by the industry as its most prestigious.

Throughout its 50 year history, the festival's goal has been to reward originality, quality and creativity in entertainment programming, and to encourage excellence in television and new media.