mthethwa netherlands 300
Arts and Culture Minister Nathi Mthethwa and Dutch Minister for Education, Culture and Science Jet Bussemaker at the treaty signing ceremony in Johannesburg, 11 December 2015. (Image:

South Africa and the Netherlands have signed a treaty for the joint production of audio-visual works which will allow qualifying co-productions to access financing possibilities available in both countries.

The treaty - South Africa's ninth co-production agreement with other countries - was signed by South African Arts and Culture Minister Nathi Mthethwa and Dutch Minister for Education, Culture and Science Jet Bussemaker in Johannesburg on 11 December.

The treaty was negotiated by the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) and the Netherlands Film Fund, who will jointly assess applications for co-productions.

SA 'provides comprehensive support for treaty countries'

NFVF Chief Executive Zama Mkosi said South Africa "provides comprehensive support for treaty countries, offering the best infrastructure, location, cast and crew, and studios.

"Filmmakers from both our countries are also going to benefit from the Department of Trade and Industry incentive scheme, which aims to encourage and attract big-budget productions and post-production," Mkosi said. "We look forward to 'co-creating' and enhancing the international profile of both the countries through our storytelling."

Netherlands Film Fund CEO Doreen Boonekamp said her organisation's experiences in working with South Africa on international co-productions such as Black Butterflies, The Price of Sugar and The Dream of Shahrazad had uncovered "promising opportunities for closer co-operation".

Comprehensive structure for creative co-operation

The treaty, Boonekamp added, created a comprehensive structure for creative bilateral co-operation.

Both countries will consider audio-visual productions that are realised in co-production within the framework of the treaty as national films. In terms of the framework, the performing, technical and craft contribution of each co-producer must be in line with the financial support that he/she brings to the project, which can be no less than 10% and no more than 90% of total production costs.

The full text of the treaty will be published in due course on the Netherlands Film Fund and NFVF websites.

South Africa's other co-production treaties are with Germany, Canada, Italy, the UK, New Zealand, France, Ireland and Australia. The Netherlands has co-production treaties with France, Canada, Germany and China and is due to sign a treaty with the French Community of Belgium in the near future.

Source: staff reporter

Contact the Gauteng Film Commission