South African Film and Television Awards - the 11th edition

Entries for the 11th edition of the South African Film and Television Awards (Saftas) surged to 441 across the awards' 89 categories, with strong growth in feature film and TV soapie entries.

This emerged from a slew of announcements made by the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF), the custodian of the Saftas, at a press conference in Johannesburg last week.

This year, 23 entrants will be competing for the Golden Horn trophy for Best Feature Film, a category which usually draws no more than 10 entries; while the Best TV Soapie category, which usually draws between 9 and 11 entries, will be contested by 17 entries.

The total 441 entries is up from 416 last year.

Awards venue moves to Sun City

The winners will be chosen by 181 judges guided by judging chairpersons Jerry Mofokeng, John Kani and Firdoze Bulbulia, with help from the public when it comes to choosing the nominees for Most Popular TV Soapie.

The three nominees in each category will be announced on 16 February, while the two awards nights will take place on Thursday, 16 March and Saturday, 18 March at Sun City in North West province.

NFVF Chief Executive Zama Mkosi said the change of venue from Gallagher Convention Centre in Midrand, Johannesburg was aimed at broadening the development of the country's film and TV industry across the nine provinces.

Call for nominations for discretionary awards

Meanwhile, the industry still has until 20 February to make nominations for four discretionary awards that will be made as part of Saftas 2017, namely:

  • Lifetime Achiever Award - to be presented to an experienced individual who has made an extensive and outstanding contribution to SA film and television both locally and internationally.
  • Youth Achiever Award - a new award, to be presented to a newcomer or young individual who has demonstrated excellence in their craft.
  • Outstanding Person with Disability Contributor Award - to be presented to a person with a disability who has achieved excellence in the film and television industry.
  • Outstanding Provincial Contributor Award - to be presented to an outstanding individual, group or particular initiative that has contributed significantly towards developing the film and television industry in the respective province.

Nominations should include a profile of the person being nominated along with a copy of their CV, and be submitted to by 20 February.

Source: staff reporter

Contact the Gauteng Film Commission