Call for applications for approval of co-production status in terms of the agreement between the government of the Republic of South Africa and the government of Ireland concerning the co-production of films (“the Agreement”).


The National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF), hereby calls for applications for productions to be made in terms of the Agreement between the government of the Republic South Africa and the government of Ireland concerning the co-production of films. The agreement came into effect on 27 September 2012 after all the necessary formalities between the two governments were concluded. The agreement was signed in Cannes, France on 20 May 2012.

For the purposes of the administration of the certification process, the designated competent authorities are the NFVF in South Africa and Irish Film Board in Ireland.

Article 1 of the Agreement defines a film as an aggregate of images, or of images and sounds, embodied in any material, and includes television and video recordings, animations and digital format productions. The NFVF advises producers to lodge their applications for an advance ruling at least eight weeks before production to allow for further requests and interrogation of supporting documentations accompanying the applications.

A copy of the agreement is available for downloading on the NFVF website. Click on this link.

For any enquiries about the requirement of this treaty and other general co-productions, please contact Terrence Khumalo on or 011 483 0880.

Released on Behalf of the National Film and Video Foundation.

Contact person:

  • Naomi Mokhele
  • Communications & Public Affairs Manager
  • Tel: +27 11 483 0880
  • Mob: +27 82 496 9324